Rule 7. The Play
Back to Rules of Cribbage
Rule 7.1. The Order of Play
a. The play of the cards starts immediately after the turn of the starter
b. The pone shall play the first card face up on the table, announcing its
value. If the dealer leads the first card and the pone plays on it, the cards shall be returned to the hands, and any points scored are retracted without penalty. The pone shall then lead to restart play. However, if play continues beyond the first card from each player, the order of play is considered to be correct, and any points scored are awarded.
c. Each player in turn shall play a single card and announce the cumulative
value (the count).
d. Each played card shall be positioned so as to overlap that player's
previously played cards while keeping the identity of all cards visible. Played
cards shall not be turned over before all cards of both players are played
and the hands counted and pegged.
e. A single card that is released by the fingers is considered played, whether or not the count has been announced, and may be retrieved only if it
would cause the count to exceed 31, and any pegging that has taken place on this play is an overpeg (see rule 8.4.c). If the count exceeds 31 and the
player claims the game, that is an overpeg and
false claim of game (see rule 8.4.b).
f. If two or more cards are played together, the card that corresponds to the
announced count is deemed to be the card played, and the other(s) shall be
retrieved. If the count is not yet announced or does not correspond with
any of the cards, the player may play any one of the cards and retrieve the
other(s) without penalty.
Rule 7.2. Scoring
a. Points are earned during the play of the cards for the following single card or combination of consecutive cards played. The player playing the last card that
forms a combination earns the points (see scoring chart in Rule 1.7):
- (1) pair
- (2) three of a kind
- (3) four of a kind
- (4) straights of three or more cards in any sequence
- (5) a cumulative count of 15
- (6) the last card before player calls "go" (i.e., cannot play a card that
would not make the count exceed 31)
- (7) a cumulative count of 31
- (8) the final card played, not making a cumulative count of 31
b. A player may peg any points earned during the play of the cards and is permitted a reasonable time to do so (i.e., a polite pause). Then, either player may play another card, call "go," call muggins, or announce the total of his or her hand. When a player's opponent has no more cards or calls "go," the other player may play all playable cards in succession and announce the points scored before pegging the total at one time.
Rule 7.3. Renege
A renege is a failure to play a card that could have been
played. A player may correct a "go" call before either player plays a card or before the opponent pegs a point. Thereafter, when a renege card is played, the opponent
may claim a renege up to the time he or she plays the next card or announces the
count of his or her hand. Judges shall be summoned. Any cards played after the
renege occurs or the pegging of a "go" shall be retrieved by both players, and any points pegged (or scored) are retracted. The non-offending player receives
two points for each card that singly could have been played (judges confirm
number of cards). The nonoffending player decides if the reneged card(s) will
be dead or played. The
nonoffending player does not get to see the value of
the reneged cards remaining in the offending player's
hand, only having the right to decide if the reneged
cards(s) will be dead or played. Play continues, and all cards in both hands and crib are counted. For example, if the count is 25 and a player whose turn it is holds A-5-6 and does not play any of the three cards and says "go," that is a "triple regnege," and the opponent gets six points (two for each card). (You cannot call a renege when the count is 21 or less.)
Exception: if a player's opponent calls "go" and the
player pegs out, the game is over; it is not a renege
if that player had cards that could have been played.
Rule 7.4. Incorrect Announcements
a. If a player announces an incorrect cumulative count, he or she may voluntarily correct it prior to the opponent's playing of the next card or calling "go." A person who calls "go" to an incorrect announcement may withdraw the "go" and correct the count before the opponent pegs or plays another card. Thereafter the incorrect count is accepted for the rest of that
series and any points pegged as a result are considered earned.
b. If a player's incorrect count announcement is not corrected voluntarily but is challenged by the opponent before the opponent plays the next card or calls "go,"
then the count shall be corrected. Also, if the offending player pegged
points that would not have been earned with the correct count, that player is
considered to have overpegged and the provisions of Rule 8.4 apply.
Back to Rules of Cribbage